Paris Until Now

Well, we are nearly a month into another experience of a lifetime. This time, you will find me making my way around the city of Paris, France.

So far, everything has been amazing and Paris has been everything I have expected and more. When I was younger I was the girl that would mimic the French accent and put on a red barret.. Now that over dramatic play I put on for family is becoming real life. I don’t think I will wear a barret while I am here and now I am speaking actual French not just mimicking the accent in English. But to put it simply. I am eating baguettes and living a dream.

I am living with a host family and the apartment is a 10 minute walk to the base of the Eiffel Tower. When I was on the metro coming from Charels De Gualle Airport, I remember the moment the Eiffel Tower came into focus and my jaw dropped – and my suitcase started to roll away. Then I got to the apartment building, and couldn’t really understand how to get inside. So the first 10 minutes of my feet being on solid Parisian ground was me trying to figure out how to dial a French phone number and how to say let me in understandable French. My host mom came down stairs to get me and show me up to the apartment. I got inside and I was greeted, and then attacked by the cat. But then I looked out my bedroom window and there it was, a view of the top of the Eiffel Tower.

A month later and it still hasn’t gotten old.

The first weekend was just getting to know my host mom and the city. She took me around town and showed me around and some of the good spots to go. I don’t really remember exactly where we went the first day, I just remember it was really hot and we did a lot of walking. So we both came home and took naps. Then that Sunday we went into one of the China towns in Paris (there is two!) and walked a little around there so I could get acquainted with a different part of Paris and also we went grocery shopping. That day I met another girl on my program by the Eiffel Tower and sat on the side of the Seine and ate crepes.

Then the first actual week was an orientation and then intensive French classes. Our French professor was the cutest old woman who gave us snacks and juice everyday, along with grammar and pronunciation lessons.

Then on the last day of intensive French lessons our professor surprised us with champagne and snacks to celebrate!

During that first week I managed to do some sightseeing as well, obviously. We went to Avenue des Champs-Élysée and saw the Arc de Triomph, but didn’t actually go up to the top.. I also sis some shopping after I realized I only brought 7 shirts with me..

That weekend we were all in Paris and tried to do some sightseeing, but as for going out everyone was still exhausted and jet-lagged.

The next Monday was the first day of classes! We started off at 9am in a French grammar and speaking course, then in the afternoon was a French Culture & Gastronomy course. All of the classes are 3 hours long, but only once a week (except for French grammar and speaking, which is twice a week). Total I have 5 classes: French Grammar, French Speaking, French Culture & Gastronomy, French Fashion & Style and The History of Paris through Photos. They are all super interesting and I have learned a lot already. I have also already had a 15 minute presentation in my gastronomy class, where the teacher said that I set the bar high for the rest of the students and their presentations (muhahahhaha :D).

I don’t have classes on Wednesdays nor on Fridays, and it is amazing! So Wednesday lets us ave time for some sightseeing and living (and catching up with homework, or blogging). And with no class on Fridays we can travel on the weekends.

The first weekend after classes started, so officially our third weekend here, me and my friends boogied on over to Oktoberfest. (But that is tomorrow’s blog post)

Then this coming weekend (I think this is technically out 5th weekend here) I am going to up Brussels, Belgium! Yay! (But that blog post will come later, after the trip actually happens.)

Other than weekend trips, I have been exploring the amazing city that is paris with friends and by myself. I have been eating baguettes and pastries and drinking wine and espresso. Everything you are supposed to do, right?

One thought on “Paris Until Now

  1. Learning the language in the country they speak it is the best. Donc tu as appris a faire la conversation en français ? 😉 I speak French fluently as it is my first language. and learning other languages has been something important for me ( first English then Spanish and now I try to add Italian). Paris is a great city. I was so happy to go back there in 2015 . My first visit in Paris was in 1977 !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment